Postclic premium unlimited: promotional offer at RM 4.19 for 48h, then RM 228.34 per month without commitment

Cancellation service #1 in Malaysia
Crunch Fitness is a gym subscription service built around monthly memberships, group classes, equipment access, and add-on digital workouts. The brand started in 1989 in New York, and its wider business runs through club-based operations plus the Crunch+ streaming product, which renews automatically until you cancel, according to its subscription terms on crunchplus.com.
If you are trying to cancel, the frustration is real. Many members get annoyed because cancellation rules can differ by club, and that is a key detail with Crunch Fitness. The company’s own FAQ says refund and account handling can depend on your home club, which means the exact process is not always standard across every location crunch.com.
The paid core is simple. You usually pay for gym floor access, classes, and depending on plan level, broader club benefits. Verified price references show Base Membership at $9.99 (RM47)* monthly, Peak Membership at $22.99 (RM109)* monthly, and Peak Results Membership at $31.99 (RM151)* monthly latestcost.com.
There is also a digital product called Crunch+ Streaming Workouts. The standard rate is listed at $7.99 (RM38)* monthly, while Crunch members may get a reduced rate of $2.99 (RM14)* monthly. That streaming plan includes live and on-demand workouts, custom plans, and exclusive classes, based on published pricing research crunchfitnessmembership.newyork-gyms.com.
For readers in Malaysia, the tricky part is that Crunch Fitness is not presented as a Malaysia-focused chain with local support details clearly published. The support page exists at crunch.com/faq, but no public cancellation phone number or live chat was specified in the verified data. The listed email is [email protected], which is useful for data questions but not clearly framed as the main cancellation channel.
Local payment methods for Malaysia were not clearly published in the verified sources, and official pricing is mainly shown in US dollars. So if you signed up while abroad, through a specific club, or for Crunch+, your contract may behave differently. That is why before cancelling, you need to identify whether you bought a physical gym membership tied to a home club or a Crunch+ digital subscription.
A lot of people worry about two things: getting billed again after cancelling, and losing access earlier than expected. Before you contact Crunch Fitness, take five minutes and save your proof properly. Screenshot your current plan, your billing date, your member ID if shown, and any page that displays your home club.
You should also pull up the payment trail from your bank or card app. Save at least the latest two charges with date and amount. If you are on Crunch+, search your email for the renewal notice because the terms say subscribers receive an email 5 days before renewal crunchplus.com. That email can help you prove timing if there is a dispute later.
For a standard gym membership, the clearest verified route is in person at your home club. The process is straightforward on paper: visit your home club and request cancellation at the front desk. Research based on Crunch guidance says each location may apply different policies, so staff may ask for identity details, your membership number, and a signed cancellation form dumpmygym.com.
When you go, do not leave empty-handed. Ask for written confirmation on the spot. A printed receipt, signed form copy, or cancellation email generated at the desk is best. If staff say the request is “in the system,” that is not enough lah. Get a document with the submission date, the last active date, and any final amount due.
The second verified method is certified mail to your home club address. This is useful when you cannot appear in person or when you want stronger proof of delivery. Research says you should send a cancellation letter by certified mail to your home club and keep delivery proof byegym.com.
Your letter should include full name, membership number, home club, phone number, email, the date, and a direct sentence stating you want to cancel. Add the last four digits of the card used only if needed for identification. If you prefer a digital version of registered post, some consumers use services like Postclic, which provide tracked certified delivery records with time-stamped proof.
Send the letter before the next billing date, not on the billing date itself. A practical buffer is 5 to 10 business days because the verified timeline for mail handling is best treated that way. If your club receives it after the charge has already triggered, you may end up disputing one more month.
There is no verified universal online click path for cancelling a physical Crunch Fitness gym membership. The official help page is crunch.com/faq, but the published research did not confirm a standard self-service route such as Account > Membership > Cancel for all clubs. In real terms, that means you should not rely on a hidden web form unless your specific club gives it to you in writing.
Phone support was not specified in the verified support data, and live chat was also not available. The listed email is [email protected], but that address is better for privacy and data queries than for core membership termination. If you still use email, send it only as extra evidence, attach your screenshots, and write your home club in the subject line.
Use short wording. State that you are requesting cancellation of your Crunch Fitness membership effective at the end of the current billing period, unless the contract allows immediate cancellation. Ask them to confirm the final active date, any outstanding balance, and that auto-billing will stop after the final charge.
If you are within a free trial for Crunch+, say that clearly. The terms state free trials are offered with conditions shown during sign-up, and the subscription renews automatically until cancelled crunchplus.com. If your trial end date is near, submit the request early and save the timestamp.
Most members are concerned that access will disappear immediately. For Crunch Fitness, the safer assumption is that access continues until the end of the paid billing period unless your club confirms an earlier cut-off. The verified sources do not give one universal end-date rule for every club, which is why your written confirmation matters more than verbal promises.
For Crunch+, the subscription auto-renews until cancelled, so if you stop it before the next renewal, you normally avoid the next cycle rather than get a mid-cycle refund crunchplus.com. If your renewal date is, for example, 30 August, save proof that you cancelled before that date.
Crunch+ renews automatically and sends an email reminder 5 days before renewal crunchplus.com. That means silence usually equals continuation. For club memberships, your own agreement may also contain a minimum term or ongoing monthly renewal structure, so missing the notice window can still trigger another charge.
Data retention after cancellation was not clearly specified in the available terms data crunch.com. If you want account or privacy information removed, send a separate request to [email protected] and keep the email trail.
This is where many people get upset. Crunch’s published FAQ position is that refund policies vary by location, and details for unused periods are not specifically set out in a universal way crunch.com. In plain language, do not assume a pro-rated refund will be automatic just because you stopped going.
Billing errors are treated separately. The official FAQ says for billing mistakes, you should contact your home club’s billing team for help crunch.com. If you were charged after a valid cancellation request, frame it as an incorrect recurring charge and attach your proof immediately.
In Malaysia, the Consumer Protection Act 1999 is the law to know. For future services such as gym memberships, Section 17 supports the idea that a consumer can cancel ongoing services, with the business generally entitled to payment only for services already provided up to the cancellation point. A blanket “no refund at all” stance on an unused future portion is not something a business can just wave around and expect to win.
The law does not create one universal cooling-off period for every consumer contract in Malaysia. So do not rely on the 5-business-day cooling-off period mentioned in non-Malaysia material as if it applies automatically here. For Malaysian readers, the stronger practical argument is the CPA treatment of future services and fairness in charges, especially where a membership continues after a clear cancellation request.
Start with the home club because that is the channel Crunch itself points to for billing issues. Write a short message or hand in a letter with your name, member number, charge date, amount, and the reason. If the charge happened on 12 July after you cancelled on 4 July, say exactly that and attach the cancellation proof plus the bank statement line.
Ask for a reply in writing within 7 calendar days. If they ignore you, escalate with a complaint record for KPDN and consider a claim at the Tribunal for Consumer Claims Malaysia if the amount is worth pursuing. Realistically, refund success is stronger for duplicate charges, post-cancellation charges, or free-trial renewal disputes than for “I did not use the gym” claims.
If Crunch Fitness or the club does not fix an unauthorised recurring charge, contact your card-issuing bank and ask to dispute the transaction or file a chargeback. In Malaysia, banks commonly work within card-network rules that give roughly 60 to 120 days from the transaction date or from when you discovered the issue. This sits within Bank Negara Malaysia’s financial consumer protection framework under the Financial Services Act 2013 or Islamic Financial Services Act 2013.
Use chargeback only after you have clear evidence that you cancelled or that the charge was wrong. Give the bank your cancellation receipt, your letter or email, delivery proof if you used certified mail, and screenshots of any account page. If the bank asks whether you tried to resolve it with the merchant, you want to be able to say yes, with dates.
The most important contract point is auto-renewal for Crunch+. The published term says Crunch Plus subscriptions renew automatically until canceled, and subscribers receive an email notification 5 days before renewal crunchplus.com. If you ignore that email, the next charge can go through as scheduled.
Memberships may also involve a minimum commitment period according to the membership agreement referenced in cancellation research legalclarity.org. That matters because even if no general cancellation fee was found in the published terms, early termination fees may still apply under your specific signed agreement.
Crunch+ offers free trials, with duration and conditions disclosed during sign-up crunchplus.com. If you joined through a trial, save the sign-up email or the trial screen because that is often the only place where the conversion date is shown clearly. Once the trial rolls into paid renewal, arguing later becomes harder.
Data retention after cancellation was not specified in a detailed way in the available terms material crunch.com. If you want deletion or access to personal data records, ask for that separately instead of assuming cancellation removes everything.
Crunch’s terms say the laws of the state where the Crunch Fitness location is situated govern the contract crunch.com. For a Malaysian consumer dealing with charges or unfair conduct affecting payment, your complaint path in Malaysia still runs through local consumer and banking channels where relevant.
Disputes are handled according to applicable laws and legal processes crunch.com. In practical terms, that means your evidence file is king. Dates, receipts, screenshots, and confirmation messages decide whether your complaint moves fast or drags on.
| Plan | Price (USD / MYR) | Period | Main features |
|---|---|---|---|
| Crunch+ Streaming Workouts | $7.99 (RM38)* | Monthly | Live and on-demand workouts |
| Crunch+ Member Pricing | $2.99 (RM14)* | Monthly | Discounted streaming access |
| Peak Results Membership | $31.99 (RM151)* | Monthly | Equipment, classes, studio access |
| Peak Membership | $22.99 (RM109)* | Monthly | Equipment and group classes |
| Base Membership | $9.99 (RM47)* | Monthly | Equipment and basic amenities |
Prices are approximate, converted from USD at 1 USD ≈ 4.72 MYR. Local charges may differ by club and market, so check the official Crunch website or your home club for the exact amount.
The cheapest recurring option in the verified data is Crunch+ Member Pricing at $2.99 (RM14)* monthly. The most expensive is Peak Results Membership at $31.99 (RM151)* monthly. If you are paying near the top end but mainly use treadmills and weights, it is fair to ask whether you are overpaying for classes or extras you rarely touch.
One common frustration linked to value is limited class or equipment availability during peak hours. That issue appears in the local problems data, and it matters because a RM109 or RM151 equivalent monthly plan feels poor value if the classes you want are always full.
For Malaysian consumers, the main law is the Consumer Protection Act 1999. The useful part for gym memberships is the treatment of future services. If you cancel an ongoing service, the provider is generally entitled to charges for services already supplied up to cancellation, not a free pass to keep billing for unused future periods.
This can matter directly with Crunch Fitness if a club says there is “no refund” after you already cancelled properly. A signed agreement can still contain notice periods or minimum terms, but contract wording does not override basic consumer protection against unfair charging practices.
If the club ignores your cancellation or keeps charging, file a complaint with KPDN, the Ministry of Domestic Trade and Cost of Living. Prepare a short timeline with your membership start date, cancellation date, amount charged, and copies of every receipt or screenshot. Keep it factual and tidy, can or not your case moves faster often depends on how clear your file is.
If money is still not returned, you can consider the Tribunal for Consumer Claims Malaysia, known as TTPM. This is useful for straightforward disputes over recurring charges, promised refunds, or failure to stop billing after cancellation. Bring the contract, the cancellation proof, and your bank statement entries showing the exact amounts.
KPDN handles consumer complaints at the national level, while TTPM deals with claim disputes in a more formal but still consumer-facing route. Before filing, try one final written demand to the club with a 7-day deadline. That document often becomes the cleanest exhibit in your complaint.
Overall rating trend for cancellation-related feedback: 0 positive and 5 negative out of 5 unique reviews. Based on that small but consistent sample, cancelling Crunch Fitness looks difficult rather than smooth. The biggest complaint is not one dramatic hidden fee, but a pattern of slow, unclear, and frustrating handling.
That matches the practical problem already seen in the research: policies can differ by location, which creates confusion. For Malaysian readers, that is a red flag because unclear branch-level rules often lead to extra charges after a member thought the process was finished.
| Theme | Frequency | Typical example |
|---|---|---|
| Cancellation obstacles | 2 reviews | Long and unclear process |
| Unexpected billing | 1 review | Charged after cancellation |
| Customer service issues | 2 reviews | Poor support response |
| Source | Rating | Number of reviews |
|---|---|---|
| ComplaintsBoard | No score shown | 1 |
| SmartCustomer | 1/5 | 2 |
| TrustPilot | 2/5 | 2 |
Only negative cancellation-related reviews were supplied in the verified set, so that needs to be said honestly. To stay balanced, Crunch still has obvious appeal as a gym brand because lower-tier pricing can be relatively cheap, and some users value the variety of classes and equipment. The issue is not whether the gym concept is attractive. The issue is whether cancellation is handled cleanly.
Many billing fights are lost because the member did not save basic proof. Before you cancel, keep screenshots of your plan page, billing date, home club name, and any trial or renewal email. If you have a membership agreement PDF or welcome email, store that too.
If money is involved, document the exact transaction trail. Your bank or card statement should show the merchant name, amount, and date. Match that against your cancellation request date so the timeline is obvious to the club, KPDN, TTPM, or your bank.
Mistake one is assuming any Crunch club can cancel your membership. The verified process refers to your home club, not just any branch dumpmygym.com. If you signed up at Club A and walk into Club B, you may waste a trip and miss your billing cut-off.
Mistake two is cancelling too close to the billing date. If you mail a letter one day before renewal, the club may receive it late. Give yourself 5 to 10 business days for mail cases. A real-world example is a member who posts the letter on Monday, billing hits on Wednesday, and then spends weeks disputing one extra month.
Mistake three is expecting a pro-rated refund for unused time. Crunch’s FAQ does not promise that as a universal rule and says refund handling depends on the location crunch.com. If you cancel halfway through a paid month, the more realistic outcome is access until the paid period ends, not a partial refund.
Mistake four is leaving without written confirmation. This connects directly to review complaints about lack of transparency and later billing disputes. If the front desk says it is done but gives you nothing, ask again. No receipt, no screenshot, no case number means weak evidence later.
Mistake five is sending only a casual email to [email protected] and assuming the gym membership is cancelled. That address is published, but it is not confirmed as the universal membership cancellation channel. Use the home club route first, then use email as supporting evidence.
No specific dark pattern was identified in the research, which is good. Still, the branch-by-branch policy setup can create friction by itself. The safest move is simple: cancel early, collect proof, and verify the next statement.
| Method | Notice period | Fee | Difficulty |
|---|---|---|---|
| In person at home club | Before next billing date | No fee found | Easy with receipt |
| By certified mail | 5-10 business days | No fee found | Higher but best proof |
| Email support evidence | Same day send | No fee found | Medium, weaker proof |
In-person works well if you are near your home club and can insist on a printed confirmation. Certified mail is slower but useful when distance, travel, or staff inconsistency is the problem. Email alone is fast, but for a physical gym membership it is better treated as backup evidence unless your club replies with formal written acceptance.
No single route fits everyone. If your billing date is close, use the fastest route available and create overlapping proof. A front desk form plus follow-up email on the same day is senang and gives you two timestamps instead of one.
Right after you cancel, save every confirmation in one folder. Put a reminder in your calendar for the next expected billing date and another one 7 days after that. This helps you catch a stray recurring charge early, when evidence is still fresh and chargeback time limits are wide open.
If your written proof says access ends on 31 August, test your account or membership status around that date. If access stops much earlier than promised, raise it quickly. If it stays active and billing also continues, that is a different problem and should be documented separately.
Watch at least the next two statements. One statement may catch the final authorised billing cycle, while the second confirms whether recurring billing truly stopped. If you see an unauthorised charge, contact the club the same day and then your bank if there is no prompt fix.
In Malaysia, ask the bank to dispute the recurring transaction or open a chargeback request. The practical window is often around 60 to 120 days depending on the bank and card network. Have your cancellation proof, bank statement, and any reply from Crunch ready before you call.
If you are leaving because of value or cancellation hassle, there are alternatives in Malaysia with clearer local presence. Fitness First Malaysia is a large chain with pricing around RM150 to RM300 per month. Celebrity Fitness sits roughly at RM180 to RM350 per month, while F45 Training is typically RM250 to RM400 per month.
These are not cheap compared with the lower Crunch price points shown in USD, but they may offer easier local support and more predictable branch handling. If your real issue was peak-hour crowding, visiting at your intended time slot before signing up can save you from repeating the same mistake.
A physical cancellation address for Crunch Fitness was not found in the verified data. For gym memberships, the verified postal route is to send the cancellation letter to your home club address, not to a single central headquarters address byegym.com.
This means you need to identify the exact branch where your membership is held before sending anything. Use your agreement, prior billing emails, or club receipts to confirm the correct location. Sending a letter to the wrong club can delay the process and trigger another charge.
If you do not know your home club address, start from the official site and your old sign-up records. Once you have the branch name, match it against your documents before posting the letter. Put your member number in the letter header so staff can link it fast.
If you are cancelling in person, ask the front desk to write the club name and cancellation date on your copy. That little detail sounds small, but in a dispute with KPDN, TTPM, or your bank, it helps show exactly which location accepted the request.
Already sent a letter? Enter its tracking number to see its proof of dispatch and certified timestamp.