Postclic premium unlimited: promotional offer at RM 4.19 for 48h, then RM 228.34 per month without commitment

Cancellation service #1 in Malaysia
The Dallas Morning News is a long-running regional newspaper based in Dallas, Texas, and it focuses on local news, politics, business, sport, culture, and opinion. For readers in Malaysia, it works mainly as an international digital news subscription rather than a local media product, so support hours, billing, and cancellation timing follow US Central Time.
The subscription terms show an auto-renew model called Continuous Service Program, also referred to as EZPay, where billing continues until you cancel "at any time" and the stop takes effect at the end of the current billing period (dallasnews.com). That setup is common for news memberships, but it also means many readers only notice the renewal after the card charge appears.
The clearest paid plan found in the verified data is the Digital Subscription at $14.99 (RM71)* per month. It includes unlimited access to the app, dallasnews.com, the e-Edition, and newsletters, with a stated 1 month free trial in the pricing data provided for this guide.
Print subscribers also get digital access, but they need to activate that access separately. If you only want app reading, web articles, and the digital paper, the digital plan is the main one to compare before you decide whether to cancel or downgrade.
For Malaysians, two pain points show up fast: support can be awkward because the customer service line uses US hours, and the subscription cost is quite high once converted into ringgit. RM71 a month for one overseas newspaper is not small, especially if you also pay for other news services.
There is no verified evidence here of local language support, local MYR billing, or Malaysian payment channels such as FPX or DuitNow. In practice, you should assume an international card-based subscription with support through phone, email, chat, or account management pages linked by the publisher.
A lot of readers get frustrated because cancellation feels vague, then a renewal comes in later and they are not sure whether the request went through. Before cancelling, take a screenshot of your current plan, note your next billing date, and save any confirmation email that shows how you originally signed up.
This step matters because The Dallas Morning News says cancellation becomes effective only at the end of the current billing period, not instantly (dallasnews.com). So if your renewal date is on the 18th, cancel before the 18th, not on the 18th at night Malaysia time and hope for the best, lah.
The published terms say you must contact customer service through the methods listed on the FAQ or Customer Service page of the applicable publication (dallasnews.com). In practical terms, start with the subscriber portal at Dallas News subscriber services and the support article at Subscriber Terms and Conditions.
The shortest working path is usually Sign in > Account or My Account > Subscription or Billing > look for manage, stop, or cancel options. If no direct cancel button appears, use the Help or Contact Us path to open chat or submit a request, because the terms specifically route cancellation through customer service channels.
No specific dark pattern was identified in the research, which is good news. Still, if a retention offer appears, make sure you reach the final confirmation screen and do not stop at a discount page.
If the website path is not clear, direct contact is often faster. Verified support details list phone number 1-800-925-1500, email [email protected], and live chat through the Help or Contact Us section on the website. Support hours are Monday to Friday, 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. CT, and Saturday to Sunday, 7:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. CT.
From Malaysia, the phone line may be inconvenient because of the time difference. Email and chat are more senang for proof, since you can keep the message trail. In your message, include your full name, subscription email, last four card digits if safe to share, and a direct line such as "Please cancel my subscription at the end of the current billing period and confirm by email."
If you paid through Apple, cancel through Apple, not through the newspaper. This is one of the most common mistakes with app subscriptions. Apple’s path is typically Settings > your name > Subscriptions > choose The Dallas Morning News > Cancel Subscription (support.apple.com).
For Google Play, open Google Play Store > profile icon > Payments and subscriptions > Subscriptions > choose The Dallas Morning News > Cancel Subscription (support.google.com). App-store cancellations usually stay active until the end of the paid period, and the newspaper’s own support team may not be able to stop store billing for you.
Written cancellation is also accepted, and the service context provides a mailing address in Dallas. This is not the fastest route, but it can help if you want a dated paper trail for a billing dispute. Some readers now use certified digital letter services such as Postclic for timestamped proof instead of traditional registered mail, which can be easier when sending from Malaysia.
If you post a letter, send it several working days before the next billing date. The practical notice window for mail is 5 to 10 business days if you want enough time for delivery and processing.
Many subscribers worry they will lose access immediately after cancelling. The verified terms say the opposite: cancellation becomes effective at the end of your current billing period, and access to the digital subscription or print delivery ends at that time (dallasnews.com).
So if your card was charged on 5 July and you cancel on 10 July, you should normally keep access until the next cycle date in August. The same end-of-period rule applies to print delivery according to the terms.
The subscription runs on continuous recurring billing under EZPay, which means it renews automatically at the end of the term or keeps running until you cancel (dallasnews.com). There is no minimum commitment stated in the verified terms data, but that does not help if you forget to stop the next charge.
This is why your cancellation timing matters more than the reason for cancelling. The company allows cancellation at any time, but the financial effect is forward-looking only, meaning future charges stop and the current paid period stays in place.
The verified terms data does not specify what happens to your account data after cancellation. There is also no verified export policy in the research set, so if you have saved articles, newsletters, or account records you care about, download or screenshot them before the subscription ends.
For Malaysian readers, the simple move is to save proof of plan details, invoices, and any complaint correspondence before your final access date. If a dispute starts later, those records are more useful than trying to recover them after the account changes state.
If you are angry because you cancelled and still expect a partial refund, the terms are blunt. "Refunds or credits are not provided for any cancelled Subscription Product" and there is no refund for the unused portion after cancellation (dallasnews.com).
In plain language, if you paid for the month and cancel halfway through, the normal outcome is no pro-rated money back. You keep access until the end of that paid period, then the subscription stops.
The one clear opening is a billing error. The terms say that in the event of a billing error, customer service will assist in resolving the issue and this may include a refund or credit as appropriate (dallasnews.com).
That means your best refund case is not "I changed my mind" but "I was charged incorrectly," such as duplicate billing, a charge after confirmed cancellation, or a renewal that did not match the plan shown in your account. In those cases, contact support straight away and attach screenshots.
The service terms do not specify a cooling-off period, but Malaysia’s Consumer Protection Act 1999 gives consumers a framework for cancellation rights, including a 10 business day cooling-off period for qualifying goods and services contracts under the jurisdiction block supplied for this guide. Whether a digital news subscription fits cleanly into every cooling-off scenario can depend on the facts, especially if service access already started.
If you subscribed recently and want out fast, send a written notice within 10 business days and state the subscription date, amount paid, and your request to withdraw. If the company rejects the request and you believe the contract falls within the cooling-off protection, escalate to KPDN or TTPM with your documents.
Use the channel that matches the billing source. Direct web subscriptions should go to [email protected], live chat, or 1-800-925-1500. App Store and Google Play purchases should be handled through the store system first, because the store controls payment collection.
If an unauthorised or recurring charge appears after cancellation, Malaysian cardholders usually ask their bank for a chargeback or to dispute a recurring card transaction. Banks commonly work within a 60 to 120 day window from the transaction date or discovery of the problem, under Bank Negara Malaysia’s complaint-handling framework and the Financial Services Act 2013 or Islamic Financial Services Act 2013.
The strongest clause is the auto-renewal wording: by purchasing a subscription product or enrolling in recurring billing, you join the Continuous Service Program and the subscription renews automatically until cancelled (dallasnews.com). That is the core reason many readers get charged again after forgetting the deadline.
No minimum commitment is specified in the verified terms data, which is consumer-friendly on paper because you are not locked into a long contract. The same data does not specify applicable law, dispute resolution, free trial conversion terms, or data retention after cancellation, so if those points matter in your case, ask customer service in writing and keep the reply.
| Plan | Price (USD / MYR) | Billing period | Main features |
|---|---|---|---|
| Digital Subscription | $14.99 (RM71)* | Monthly | App, web, e-Edition, newsletters |
Prices are approximate, converted from USD at the rate 1 USD ≈ 4.72 MYR. Check the official website for exact current pricing and any local tax or billing differences.
Only one verified recurring plan was provided in the research data, so the Digital Subscription at $14.99 (RM71)* per month is both the cheapest and most expensive verified plan in this guide. For a Malaysian reader, RM71 monthly is the real comparison point because that is the out-of-pocket impact.
If you subscribed for Dallas or Texas coverage and use it daily, the value can still be decent. If you mainly read a few pieces a month, the cost is hard to justify next to free or lower-cost international news options.
The pricing data mentions a 1 month free trial, but the verified terms page does not clearly spell out trial conversion conditions. Because the subscription uses automatic renewal under EZPay, assume the safest approach is to cancel before the trial or discounted period rolls into a paid month.
No cancellation fee and no early termination fee were found in the terms. That is positive. The bigger cost risk is simply forgetting the renewal date and getting billed another $14.99 (RM71)* cycle.
For readers in Malaysia, the main local framework is the Consumer Protection Act 1999. The jurisdiction block for this guide also points to a 10 business day cooling-off period for qualifying goods and services contracts, plus a right to notify withdrawal in writing within that period.
This matters if The Dallas Morning News terms are silent on cooling-off rights, because the verified terms do not specify one. Local consumer rights can still be relevant when a Malaysian consumer buys an overseas digital subscription and faces unfair billing or unclear cancellation handling.
If you signed up recently, write to customer service within 10 business days and say you are exercising your withdrawal right under Malaysia’s consumer protection framework. Include your subscription date, the charged amount such as $14.99 (RM71)*, and the email used for the account.
There can be exceptions, especially where a service has already been fully performed with your consent before the cooling-off period ends. For a digital newspaper, the argument may become fact-specific, so written evidence is crucial if you plan to push the point with KPDN or TTPM.
If support does not respond or keeps charging after cancellation, file a complaint with the Ministry of Domestic Trade and Cost of Living, known as KPDN. Prepare your account screenshot, cancellation email, bank statement, and any support replies. State the timeline clearly, including the cancellation date and the date of the disputed charge.
If money is involved and negotiation fails, you can consider the Tribunal for Consumer Claims Malaysia, known as TTPM. This route is especially useful where the dispute is concrete, such as a post-cancellation charge or refusal to correct a billing error after proof was supplied.
KPDN and TTPM are the two bodies most readers should know before an overseas subscription dispute drags on. KPDN handles consumer complaints and TTPM provides a formal claims channel for consumer disputes in Malaysia.
Based on the research set, the visible sentiment is negative: 0 positive and 2 negative unique reviews. That is a small sample, so it does not prove every customer has a bad experience, but it does show recurring frustration around app usability and ad-heavy design rather than praise for a smooth cancellation flow.
For Malaysians, the likely cancellation difficulty is moderate, not because of a hidden fee, but because support operates on US time and because users may not know whether they subscribed direct, via App Store, or via Google Play. That wrong-channel problem causes plenty of unnecessary hassle.
| Theme | Frequency | Typical example |
|---|---|---|
| App frustration | High | Scrolling and ad complaints |
| Cancellation intent | Medium | User says they are cancelling |
| Ads for paid users | High | Paid plan still shows ads |
| Source | Rating | Number of reviews |
|---|---|---|
| App Store | Negative trend | 2 |
Only negative reviews were found in the provided evidence, so it is fair to say the sampled mood is poor. To keep this balanced, the stronger positive points of the service itself are its established regional coverage, e-Edition access, and newsletter bundle, which can still suit readers who need Dallas and Texas reporting specifically.
Before cancelling, save the account page showing your active plan, renewal date, and billing amount such as $14.99 (RM71)*. Also save the original welcome email or receipt, because it often shows whether the subscription is direct, App Store, or Google Play.
If the issue is money, keep transaction IDs, statement entries, cancellation timestamp, and all chat or email replies. A bank dispute is much easier when you can show the charge date, your cancellation request date, and the company response in one file.
The biggest trap is trying to cancel a store subscription through the publisher. If Apple or Google billed you, cancel inside that store account. If you do not, the recurring charge may continue even after you email the newspaper.
A real-life version is simple: you read the app on iPhone, assume the newspaper handles payment, send an email, then the App Store renews anyway. Check the receipt source before doing anything else.
Support hours are in Central Time, not Malaysia time. If your renewal date is today in Texas but already tomorrow here, waiting until late evening in Malaysia can be risky. Cancel at least a few days early if can.
This matters because access ends at the end of the current billing period, not immediately. There is no benefit in waiting until the last minute, but there is clear risk.
Many readers assume cancelling halfway means half the money comes back. The verified terms say no refund or credit is provided for cancelled subscription products and no refund is given for the unused portion after cancellation (dallasnews.com).
So the smarter move is to cancel before the next renewal, not after it. Refund requests work best only when there is a billing error, duplicate charge, or post-cancellation charge.
If you cancel by phone and do not ask for an email confirmation, you create a headache for yourself. Always ask for a confirmation message or case number, then screenshot it the same day.
This is especially useful for Malaysians contacting an overseas service. If support later says there is no record, your own timestamped evidence can support a complaint to KPDN, TTPM, or your bank.
| Method | Notice period | Fee | Difficulty |
|---|---|---|---|
| Web/account | Before next billing | No fee found | Easy |
| App Store (iOS) | Before next billing | No fee found | Medium |
| Google Play (Android) | Before next billing | No fee found | Medium |
| Registered mail | 5 to 10 business days | No fee found | Higher, best proof |
There is no single perfect method for everyone. Web account tools and chat are faster for direct subscriptions, App Store and Google Play are essential if those stores billed you, and registered mail gives stronger proof if the case is already becoming a dispute.
No cancellation fee or early termination fee was found in the verified terms. The real danger is timing and proof, not a penalty charge.
Right after cancelling, look for a confirmation email or a final account screen showing the end date of access. Take a screenshot and set a calendar reminder for 2 dates: your expected last access date and the day after the next expected billing cycle.
If no confirmation arrives within 24 hours after chat or email, contact support again with the earlier message attached. Do not assume silence means done.
Monitor your card or bank statement for at least 2 billing cycles after cancellation. If a fresh recurring charge appears after a confirmed cancellation, contact support once more immediately, then consider a chargeback request with your issuing bank if the matter is not fixed quickly.
In Malaysia, banks usually frame this as disputing an unauthorised or recurring card transaction. The window is commonly around 60 to 120 days from the transaction date or from when you discovered the problem, under Bank Negara Malaysia’s financial consumer protection framework.
If you are cancelling because RM71 a month feels too steep, there are cheaper or broader alternatives. Reuters is free with optional premium content, The Guardian is free with optional donations, and The Washington Post is listed in the research at $10 to $40 per month, roughly RM47 to RM189.
If you want deep US coverage rather than Dallas-specific reporting, those options may fit better for a Malaysian budget. If your priority is Texas local coverage, though, substitutes will not fully replace The Dallas Morning News.
If you want a written route, use the mailing address below:
Include your full name, account email, subscription details, and a clear sentence asking for cancellation at the end of the current billing period. Add the date, then keep a copy of the letter and postage receipt.
Mail is slower than chat or email, so it is best used when you want stronger documentation or when earlier contact attempts failed. Allow 5 to 10 business days before the next billing date, especially for post sent from Malaysia.
If your main goal is speed, online account tools, chat, or email are usually more efficient. If your main goal is proof for a dispute, written notice can still be worth the effort.
Already sent a letter? Enter its tracking number to see its proof of dispatch and certified timestamp.